Tutor Hunt vs TutorDex

Tutor Hunt vs TutorDex

Tutor Hunt is a UK tutor directory that has operated since 2005, with an embedded per-lesson fee and a requirement that all tutors hold an Enhanced DBS. TutorDex is a directory-style platform built around a one-off finder's fee, direct tutor contact and importing a tutor's First Tutors history. This page compares the two on price, tutor checks, lesson format and safeguarding.

By Henry Lin, Founder of TutorDex · Published 14 September 2026 · Updated 14 September 2026 · Last reviewed 14 September 2026

Tutor Hunt vs TutorDex at a glance

Tutor Hunt charges no upfront or introduction fee; instead its fee is embedded in each lesson payment, and the displayed tutor rate already includes it. Payment is collected 24 hours after each lesson, and all tutors must hold an Enhanced DBS including the children's barred list check.

TutorDex is a directory-style platform: a one-off finder's fee of £9.99–£39.99 releases a chosen tutor's contact details, there is no per-lesson fee and no commission, and lessons and payment are arranged directly with the tutor. It is also the only platform built to import a full First Tutors account history.

The practical choice is an embedded recurring fee with a mandatory DBS check versus a fixed one-off cost with direct contact. Neither is cheaper in every case.

At a glance: parents and tutors

If you're a parent

Tutor Hunt: no introduction fee; the tutor's displayed rate includes Tutor Hunt's fee; you pay 24 hours after each lesson; all tutors must hold an Enhanced DBS.

TutorDex: one-off £9.99–£39.99 finder's fee, direct contact with the tutor, no per-lesson fee, and you arrange lessons and payment yourself.

If you're a tutor

Tutor Hunt: free to register; you must hold an Enhanced DBS with the children's barred list check (purchasable through Tutor Hunt at cost if you do not have one); an undisclosed fee is embedded in each lesson payment.

TutorDex: free to list, the student pays the finder's fee, an open pool of tutors can register, and you can import your First Tutors history.

How booking works on each platform

Booking with Tutor Hunt

  1. Search by subject, level and postcode for online or in-person tutors.
  2. Message as many tutors as you like, for free, and discuss your requirements.
  3. Once a tutor sets up a schedule, enter payment details to confirm lessons.
  4. Attend the lesson; payment is taken 24 hours after the lesson, never in advance.

Booking with TutorDex

  1. Search for a tutor by subject, level and location.
  2. Message the tutor to discuss your requirements; browsing and messaging are free.
  3. Pay the one-off finder's fee of £9.99–£39.99 to release the tutor's contact details.
  4. Arrange the lesson format, schedule and payment directly with the tutor.

Side-by-side

DimensionTutor HuntTutorDex
Business modelUK tutor directory operating since 2005; family selects the tutor themselves.Directory-style platform; a finder's fee releases contact details and lessons are arranged directly.
Pricing modelNo introduction fee; a per-lesson fee is embedded in the displayed rate, which already includes it.One-off finder's fee of £9.99–£39.99; no per-lesson fee and no commission.
CommissionNot publicly stated; the displayed rate "includes our fees".None.
Tutor costFree to register; an Enhanced DBS is required and can be purchased through Tutor Hunt at cost.Free to list; the student pays the one-off finder's fee.
Lesson formatOnline lessons through an interactive whiteboard, or in-person with local tutors.Tutor and family agree the format, schedule and tools.
Contact sharingMessage tutors for free; contact details are shown to a tutor only when the student's payment details are confirmed.Finder's fee releases contact details; communication then happens directly.
SafeguardingEnhanced DBS with children's barred list required of all tutors; only English and Scottish Enhanced DBS accepted; online lessons recorded; named Designated Safeguarding Officer.Identity, address and two references collected and reviewed; DBS not mandatory for self-employed private tutors; families verify the specific tutor.
Search rankingNot publicly documented.Imported First Tutors reviews feed search ranking, alongside native reviews.
First Tutors historyNo First Tutors import.Full First Tutors account import, including reviews that feed search ranking.

Fees and pricing compared

Tutor Hunt charges no upfront or introduction fee to either party. Tutors list for free and set their own rates. Tutor Hunt earns by taking a fee embedded in each lesson payment: the student pays the displayed rate, which already includes Tutor Hunt's fee, and payment is collected 24 hours after each lesson. Tutor Hunt says there are no other charges, but the percentage taken from each lesson is not publicly stated on the pages reviewed.

TutorDex charges the student or parent a one-off finder's fee of £9.99–£39.99 to release a chosen tutor's contact details. There is no per-lesson fee and no commission: the tutor keeps the hourly rate agreed directly with the family, and further payments and arrangements are handled privately.

What the fee models mean over time

The two models behave differently as lesson volume increases. Tutor Hunt has no upfront charge, but its fee is embedded in every lesson the student pays for, so the platform cost recurs for as long as the lessons do. TutorDex charges once per tutor unlocked, so its platform cost is fixed no matter how many lessons follow.

That means the cheaper option depends on how many lessons you expect. For a single lesson, the two can land close together. For a term of weekly lessons, a fixed one-off fee is usually cheaper than a recurring per-lesson fee, because the recurring cost compounds while the fixed cost does not.

When comparing, work out the expected total, not the headline hourly rate: lesson length, number of lessons, any embedded fee, cancellation rules, and what happens if the first tutor is not a fit.

Lesson format and classroom

Tutor Hunt supports both online and in-person lessons. Online lessons use Tutor Hunt's interactive whiteboard, which includes video, audio, chat, document sharing and screen sharing. Tutor Hunt states that all online lessons are recorded and may be reviewed for safeguarding, and that in-person tutors are willing to travel. Its search is built around a postcode.

TutorDex is a directory, not a classroom. The finder's fee enables contact-detail sharing, and from that point the tutor and family agree the lesson format, platform, schedule and payment method themselves.

If you want online lessons through a platform whiteboard with recordings, or a broad postcode search for in-person tutors, Tutor Hunt provides it. If you want to arrange lessons directly and choose your own tools, TutorDex leaves that to you and the tutor.

Tutor choice and who can list

Tutor Hunt has operated since 2005 and has a large directory of online and in-person tutors, searchable by subject, level and postcode. Registration is free for tutors. Tutor Hunt does not choose tutors on the family's behalf; it lets parents and students select a tutor themselves.

TutorDex is open to new tutors, including experienced working tutors, qualified teachers and specialists. TutorDex collects identity, address and two references for registered tutors, and tutors set their own rates.

Safeguarding and tutor checks

Tutor Hunt requires all tutors to hold an Enhanced DBS which includes the children's barred list check; Tutor Hunt says this is reviewed periodically and that it only accepts English and Scottish Enhanced DBS certificates. Tutors without a DBS can buy one through Tutor Hunt at cost. Tutor Hunt has a named Designated Safeguarding Officer, records online lessons for safeguarding, and states that a parent or guardian should be present at all times for under-18s.

TutorDex collects proof of identity, proof of address and two references for registered tutors, which are reviewed by its compliance team. Private tuition is not generally a regulated activity, so a DBS check is not a legal requirement for a self-employed private tutor; TutorDex does not claim that every tutor holds one. Families should verify identity, qualifications and any check for the specific tutor.

Vetting and safeguarding compared

A check on a platform is not a guarantee of teaching quality or personal fit. This table records what each platform says it does.

CheckTutor HuntTutorDex
Who can listFree to register; Tutor Hunt reviews uploaded verification documents.Open to new tutors, including experienced tutors, teachers and specialists.
IdentityTutors can upload ID as part of verification, reviewed by the admin team.Proof of identity collected and reviewed for registered tutors.
Criminal-record checkEnhanced DBS with children's barred list required of all tutors; only English and Scottish Enhanced DBS accepted; reviewed periodically.Not mandatory; private tuition is generally not a regulated activity.
ReferencesNot documented as a requirement on the pages reviewed.Two references collected for registered tutors.
Lesson recordingOnline lessons recorded; reviewed for safeguarding.Not recorded by the platform; tutor and family decide.
Safeguarding officerA named Designated Safeguarding Officer.No named safeguarding officer; support team is available.
Parent responsibilityParent or guardian should be present at all times for under-18s.Families arrange lessons directly and carry out their own due diligence.

First Tutors history and review imports

Tutor Hunt is an established directory and does not import a former tutor's First Tutors history.

TutorDex was built to accept a full import of a First Tutors account. After the First Tutors closure, tutors can download their data from the First Tutors Privacy Center and import it into TutorDex: published and unpublished reviews, former students, references, old tuition requests and response times. Verifiable imported reviews feed the TutorDex search algorithm, so a tutor who built years of feedback does not restart from zero.

If you were a First Tutors tutor carrying a review history, that migration path is the clearest practical difference between the two platforms. Read the import walkthrough.

What Tutor Hunt offers that TutorDex doesn't

  • A large, long-standing directory

    Tutor Hunt has operated since 2005 and lists a broad range of online and in-person tutors across subjects and levels.

  • A mandatory Enhanced DBS check

    All tutors must hold an Enhanced DBS including the children's barred list check, which some families will see as a strong safety baseline.

  • An interactive whiteboard with recordings

    Online lessons run through Tutor Hunt's whiteboard with video, audio, chat, document and screen sharing, and are recorded for safeguarding.

  • A named safeguarding officer

    Tutor Hunt has a Designated Safeguarding Officer as a first point of contact for concerns.

  • Free to message, no upfront fee

    Parents can contact as many tutors as they wish for no charge and pay only after each lesson.

What TutorDex offers that Tutor Hunt doesn't

  • A fixed one-off cost

    A single finder's fee releases contact details, with no per-lesson fee, so the platform cost does not grow with every lesson.

  • Direct contact and control

    You deal with the tutor directly and agree the lesson format, schedule and payment method yourselves.

  • First Tutors history import

    TutorDex imports a full First Tutors account — reviews, students, references and old requests — and imported reviews feed search ranking.

  • Free to list with no DBS requirement

    TutorDex is free for tutors to list, and does not require a DBS, which matters for many self-employed private tutors.

  • An open tutor pool

    TutorDex accepts new tutors, including specialists who may not hold an Enhanced DBS.

Key terms in this comparison

Embedded fee

A platform fee built into the displayed lesson rate, so the student pays one price that includes it. Tutor Hunt says its displayed rates include its fees.

Finder's fee

A one-off payment to unlock a tutor's contact details, rather than a fee charged per lesson.

Enhanced DBS

The highest level of DBS check, which can include a check against the children's barred list. Tutor Hunt requires it of all tutors.

Tutor directory

A listing platform that helps families find and contact tutors, then leaves lessons and payment to be arranged directly.

Interactive whiteboard

An online lesson tool that can include video, audio, chat, document sharing and screen sharing. Tutor Hunt provides one for online lessons.

Designated Safeguarding Officer

A named person responsible for handling safeguarding concerns. Tutor Hunt names one.

Contact sharing

Whether the platform releases a tutor's contact details to the family or keeps communication on-platform.

Review import

Bringing previously published reviews from another platform (here, First Tutors) into a new profile, with the source checked.

Questions to ask before you book

A few questions reveal more than a headline price or star rating.

  • What is the total cost?

    Ask the tutor's rate and confirm what the displayed price includes, then work out the expected term total rather than the headline rate.

  • What has actually been checked?

    Ask which checks apply to the specific tutor — identity, references and the DBS level — rather than relying on a general platform claim.

  • How are lessons run?

    Confirm whether lessons are online or in person, whether they are recorded, and how homework and progress are handled.

  • What happens if a lesson is missed?

    Check the cancellation and rescheduling rules, and how payment is handled for a missed lesson.

  • Is the tutor pool open?

    If you want a specific or newly qualified tutor, check that the platform accepts new tutors.

  • How do we switch tutors if it is not a fit?

    Ask how to change tutor and what happens to any fee already paid.

Which is the better fit?

Tutor Hunt may suit you if

  • You want a large directory of online and in-person tutors
  • You want to search by postcode and find local tutors who travel
  • You want a platform that requires an Enhanced DBS from every tutor
  • You want an interactive whiteboard with recorded online lessons
  • You want no upfront fee and are comfortable with a per-lesson fee

TutorDex may suit you if

  • You want a fixed one-off cost rather than a per-lesson fee
  • You want to deal directly with the tutor and choose your own lesson setup
  • You were a First Tutors tutor and want to import your history and reviews
  • You want an open tutor pool that accepts new tutors
  • You are comfortable carrying out your own tutor due diligence

Sources and checked dates

Prices and terms change, so each claim is tied to a primary source and a checked date.

  • Tutor Hunt — About / How Our Service Works and FAQ

    Tutor Hunt · Accessed 2026-09-14

    Operating since 2005; free to message tutors; displayed rates include fees with no other charges; payment 24 hours after each lesson, never in advance; online whiteboard with video, audio, chat and screen share; Enhanced DBS with children's barred list required and reviewed periodically; only English and Scottish Enhanced DBS accepted; DBS purchasable at cost; documents encrypted and reviewed by the admin team.

  • Tutor Hunt — Safeguarding Policy

    Tutor Hunt · Accessed 2026-09-14

    Enhanced DBS with children's barred list required of all tutors; named Designated Safeguarding Officer; online lessons recorded and reviewed for safeguarding; police access to recordings where a criminal offence is suspected; parent or guardian present for under-18 in-person lessons.

  • TutorDex — Importing reviews

    TutorDex · Accessed 2026-09-14

    TutorDex import process and how imported reviews are treated.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper, Tutor Hunt or TutorDex?
Tutor Hunt has no upfront fee, but its fee is embedded in every lesson payment, so the platform cost recurs as lessons continue; the percentage is not publicly stated. TutorDex charges a one-off finder's fee of £9.99–£39.99 and no per-lesson fee. For a single lesson they can be close; for ongoing weekly lessons TutorDex's cost is fixed while Tutor Hunt's recurs.
What commission does Tutor Hunt take?
It is not publicly stated. Tutor Hunt says the tutor's displayed rate "includes our fees and there are no other charges", but the percentage taken from each lesson is not broken out on the pages reviewed.
Do Tutor Hunt tutors need a DBS?
Yes. Tutor Hunt requires all tutors to hold an Enhanced DBS including the children's barred list check, reviewed periodically. It states that it only accepts English and Scottish Enhanced DBS certificates, and that tutors can buy a DBS through Tutor Hunt at cost if they do not have one.
Are Tutor Hunt lessons recorded?
Tutor Hunt states that online lessons through its whiteboard are recorded and may be reviewed for safeguarding, and that recordings may be shared with police where a criminal offence is suspected.
Can I import my First Tutors reviews to Tutor Hunt?
Tutor Hunt does not import a former tutor's First Tutors history. TutorDex does: it accepts a full import of a First Tutors account, and verifiable imported reviews feed its search ranking.
Which is better for in-person tutoring?
Tutor Hunt has a postcode search and a long-standing directory of local, in-person tutors who are often willing to travel. TutorDex also lists in-person tutors, but Tutor Hunt is the broader directory for local search.
Which is better for ongoing weekly lessons?
If you want a large directory and a per-lesson model, Tutor Hunt fits that. If you want a fixed one-off cost and a direct relationship with the tutor, TutorDex fits better. Compare the total expected spend and the level of platform involvement you want.