First Tutors has closed. This guide compares seven UK platforms that families and tutors have moved to — including TutorDex — on the pricing facts that actually distinguish them, along with how tutors can recover their First Tutors reviews and account history.
By Henry Lin, Founder of TutorDex · Published 14 September 2026 · Updated 14 September 2026 · Last reviewed 14 September 2026
First Tutors was a directory: you browsed tutors and contacted them, and the platform generally stayed out of the lesson itself. The seven platforms below split into two groups — those that introduce you to a tutor and then step back, and those that manage the lessons, payment and classroom on your behalf.
There is no single winner. The cheapest option for one lesson is rarely the cheapest across a term, and the right choice usually comes down to how much platform involvement you want.
| Platform | Pricing model | Headline cost | If it does not work out |
|---|---|---|---|
| TutorDex | Scaled finder's fee | £9.99–£39.99 per introduction, scaled to the tutor's hourly rate; optional tutor Premium subscription | Free re-match if the tutor does not meet your requirements |
| Tutorful | Per-lesson service fee | Service fee added on top of the tutor's rate; percentage not published; from £20/hour | 100% satisfaction guarantee towards a replacement lesson, capped at £100 |
| MyTutor | Per-lesson Platform Fee | From £26/hour; Platform Fee capped at up to 49% of the amount paid; no subscription | Free 15-minute meeting before booking; terms-based |
| Tutor Hunt | Embedded per-lesson fee | Fee included in the displayed tutor rate; percentage not stated; no upfront fee | Not publicly stated |
| Superprof | Monthly contact subscription | £39/month Student Pass, separate from the tutor's lesson fee | Subscription cancellable at any time; lessons paid directly to the tutor |
| The Profs | Premium managed matching | School tutoring from £60/hour plus a £70 registration fee; higher levels from £75–£120/hour | Free consultation and personalised matching |
| Edumentors | Online one-to-one, pay per session | From £29/session; pay per session or in full for a bulk discount | Free trial session; refund or reschedule if a tutor misses a lesson |
Figures were checked on 14 September 2026. Always confirm on the platform's own pricing page before booking.
When a platform returns a list of tutors, something decides the order. Some platforms rank on engagement — response speed, reviews and lessons taught — while others let tutors pay for higher placement. It is worth knowing which is which before you treat a top result as the best match.
Tutorful
Tutorful's terms describe ranking on profile data, student ratings and number of lessons taught. We did not find a paid-placement product on the pages reviewed.
MyTutor
MyTutor does not publish its ranking formula on the pages reviewed.
Tutor Hunt
Tutor Hunt's ranking method is not publicly documented on the pages reviewed.
Superprof
Superprof offers premium placement, so some tutors near the top may have paid for higher visibility.
TutorDex
TutorDex offers an optional Premium subscription that includes enhanced search ranking, and imported First Tutors reviews feed the search algorithm.
On TutorDex specifically, tutors can buy a Premium subscription that includes enhanced search ranking, and imported First Tutors reviews also feed the search algorithm. We state that here because it is true and because it affects what you see.
1. Work out the cost over a term, not a lesson. A per-lesson commission on a £30/hour tutor adds up quickly across twenty lessons, while a one-off introduction fee does not. The two models look closer per lesson than they are in aggregate.
2. Check what happens if it does not work out. Refund and guarantee rules belong in the terms of service, not only in help articles, because help articles change. Look up the actual clause for the platform you are considering.
3. Decide whether you want the platform to handle lessons. A lesson-handling platform (Tutorful, MyTutor) takes responsibility for the classroom, payment and disputes, and charges for that. A directory (Tutor Hunt, Superprof, TutorDex) introduces you to the tutor and leaves the rest to you and the tutor. Neither is universally better.
Model: managed marketplace. Lessons run in Tutorful's own Online Classroom, online lessons are recorded, and messages stay on-platform.
Pricing: online tuition from £20/hour. Tutorful says using it is free for tutors and that it does not take commission from tutor earnings; instead a student-paid service fee is added on top of the tutor's rate, and the percentage is not published. Payment is taken 24 hours after the lesson.
Checks: all tutors must hold an enhanced background check awarded within the last three years, plus two written references. There is a 100% satisfaction guarantee, capped at £100 with deadlines.
Watch out for: Tutorful's sign-up page currently states it is no longer accepting new tutors, so the pool is closed to new entrants for now.
Tutorful is the better fit if you want one platform to handle the classroom, payment and disputes, and you value recorded lessons.
Model: managed marketplace, best known for GCSE and A-level academic subjects. You pay the platform, and it pays the tutor minus its fee. Lessons are recorded.
Pricing: tuition from £26/hour, pay-as-you-go, with no sign-up fees or subscriptions. MyTutor's terms cap the Platform Fee at a maximum of 49% of the amount paid; the per-transaction fee is £0.50 or 1.75% up to £2.50. The tutor pool is university-led: tutors must have studied at, or recently graduated from, partner universities.
Checks: MyTutor says it interviews every tutor, accepts about 1 in 8 applicants, and requires an enhanced DBS including Children's Barred List information renewed every three years.
MyTutor is the better fit if your child is preparing for a specific academic exam, you want recorded lessons, and you like the university-tutor model.
Model: directory, operating since 2005. You browse profiles, contact tutors for free, and arrange lessons and payment directly. Online lessons use its interactive whiteboard.
Pricing: no introduction fee. Tutor Hunt's fee is embedded in each lesson payment, and the displayed tutor rate already includes it; the percentage is not publicly stated. Payment is taken 24 hours after the lesson.
Checks: all tutors must hold an Enhanced DBS including the children's barred list check, reviewed periodically; Tutor Hunt states it only accepts English and Scottish Enhanced DBS certificates, and there is a named Designated Safeguarding Officer.
Tutor Hunt is the better fit if you want a large directory with postcode search and in-person options, and you are comfortable making contact and arranging lessons yourself.
Model: global marketplace. Superprof works differently from the others: a monthly subscription unlocks contact with tutors, and lessons are paid directly to the tutor.
Pricing: in the UK a Student Pass costs £39/month and renews until cancelled. The lesson fee is separate, at the tutor's own rate. Tutors keep 100% when they collect payment directly, or Superprof applies a 10% processing fee if payments are routed through the platform.
Checks: Superprof allows anyone with subject knowledge to teach; credentials are optional and reviewed by its admin team, and no DBS requirement is publicly documented on the pages reviewed.
Watch out for: the Student Pass keeps billing until cancelled, separate from lesson fees. Watch the renewal carefully.
Superprof is the better fit if you want the widest choice of subjects and tutors, including niche or unusual requests, and you are prepared to vet each tutor yourself.
Model: premium managed matching. The Profs searches its network and matches a student to a specialist tutor, largely for academic and admissions support.
Pricing: school tutoring from £60/hour plus a one-off £70 registration fee, rising by level — undergraduate from £75/hour, postgraduate from £90/hour, professional from £105/hour and specialist tutoring from £120/hour. Block bookings carry discounts (5% for 10 hours, 10% for 20 hours).
Checks: The Profs says only 3% of tutor applicants make it onto its network, and positions itself as a premium, high-credential service.
The Profs is the better fit if budget is less of a constraint and you want a managed, high-credential shortlist, particularly for admissions or advanced academic support. It is not a budget replacement for a broad directory.
Model: online one-to-one tutoring for ages 4 to 19, covering A-level, GCSE, IGCSE, IB, 11+ and KS3.
Pricing: sessions from £29, in tiers of £20–£30 for newer tutors, £30–£40 for proven tutors and £40+ for top tutors. You can pay per session or pay in full for a bulk discount; sessions are pay-as-you-go rather than an upfront package.
Checks and trial: Edumentors says its tutors are hand-picked and vetted from leading UK universities, and offers a free trial session with every tutor before you commit.
Edumentors is the better fit if you want an online one-to-one option with a risk-free trial and pay-as-you-go sessions.
Model: directory-style platform, built after the First Tutors closure. You pay a one-off finder's fee to unlock a tutor's contact details, then arrange lessons and payment directly with the tutor. There is no commission on lessons.
Pricing: a scaled finder's fee of £9.99–£39.99 per introduction, which varies with the tutor's hourly rate. Tutors can also choose an optional Premium subscription that includes enhanced search ranking; imported First Tutors reviews feed the search algorithm too.
Checks: TutorDex collects proof of identity, proof of address and two references for registered tutors, reviewed by its compliance team. Private tuition is not generally a regulated activity, so a DBS check is not a legal requirement and TutorDex does not claim that every tutor holds one; families verify the specific tutor. If a tutor does not meet your requirements, TutorDex will connect you to another free of charge.
First Tutors history: TutorDex is the only platform that accepts a full import of a First Tutors account — published and unpublished reviews, former students, references, old tuition requests and response times.
TutorDex is the better fit if you want a fixed one-off cost, the freedom to deal with the tutor directly, and a way to carry your First Tutors history across. It is not the right fit if you want one platform to host the video lessons and process payment with the platform as referee on disputes — Tutorful and MyTutor are better fits for that.
A check is not the whole safeguarding picture. Platforms may mention interviews, identity checks, references, DBS checks and on-platform messaging; these help you compare services, but they do not remove the need to assess the specific tutor and lesson setup.
DBS wording also needs care across the UK. GOV.UK describes DBS checks for England and Wales, while Scotland uses Disclosure Scotland/PVG and Northern Ireland uses AccessNI, so UK-wide copy should not imply that one label works identically everywhere.
On additional needs, the clearest parent-facing signal among these platforms is Tutorful's additional-needs categories and SEN-experience filter, but a filter is shortlisting help, not a promise that a particular tutor will suit every child. For any learner with SEND or additional needs, ask the individual tutor how they adapt explanations, pace, homework, breaks, reading load and feedback.
For context, the Education Endowment Foundation estimates that one-to-one tuition has an average impact of around five additional months' progress — but the benefit depends on targeted, regular sessions rather than the platform brand.
Name the tutoring job
Is the goal confidence, homework structure, GCSE or A-level content, admissions preparation, SEND support, catch-up, or stretch beyond school?
Choose the service model
Decide whether you want a self-serve directory, an online-only platform, premium managed matching, a broad multi-subject marketplace, or direct-contact tutoring.
Compare total cost
Look beyond the hourly rate: platform fees, registration charges, packages, subscriptions, cancellation terms, and whether payment is taken before or after lessons.
Ask what is actually verified
Ask whether the provider verifies identity, qualifications, references, criminal-record checks, interviews, lesson recordings or on-platform messages.
Use fit reassurance early
Where available, use a free chat, intro meeting, first-lesson guarantee, trial session or replacement policy before committing to a longer sequence.
For SEND, ask for examples
Ask the tutor to describe relevant experience, how they would adapt a lesson, how progress is reviewed, and what they would do if the first approach does not work.
Plan short, regular sessions
Agree a focused plan linked to school work or exam goals rather than choosing a brand first and hoping progress follows.
Adapt this message before you pay for a first lesson, trial or intro meeting.
Hello [tutor name], we are looking for support with [subject, year group and exam board if relevant]. Could you tell us how you would assess [child's name]'s current level, what experience you have with [specific goal or need], how you usually structure lessons, and what a good first four weeks would look like? Could you also confirm your hourly rate, cancellation policy, whether lessons are online or in person, and whether there is a short intro call, trial or first-lesson fit policy before we book more sessions?
A service where parents search tutor profiles, contact tutors and choose for themselves, rather than having a tutor selected for them.
A more guided model where the provider helps shortlist or match a tutor, often at a higher price point than a broad marketplace.
A service built around live online lessons, often with video, whiteboard tools, on-platform messaging and lesson recordings.
A recurring fee to contact tutors, such as a monthly pass. It is separate from the lesson fee and keeps billing until cancelled.
A one-off payment to unlock a tutor's contact details, rather than a recurring subscription or a per-lesson charge.
The highest level of DBS check for England and Wales. Scotland uses Disclosure Scotland/PVG and Northern Ireland uses AccessNI.
A provider filter or tutor-profile claim that may help you identify relevant experience. It is not a guarantee of suitability for every child.
A dated indication of public review sentiment and volume. It is not verification of pricing, vetting, safeguarding or refund policies.
Former First Tutors tutors have two routes to recover what they built:
1. Download your data from the First Tutors Privacy Center
First Tutors provides a self-service Privacy Center. Tick both "Reviews about me" and "My full account data", confirm by email, and download the ZIP and password.
2. Import it into TutorDex
TutorDex accepts a full import of a First Tutors account and carries your reviews, students, references and old requests across. Verifiable imported reviews feed the search algorithm, so you do not start from zero. See the import walkthrough.
If your data export does not cover everything, ICO guidance says organisations should normally respond to a data-access request within one month. The First Tutors closure guide includes a data request email template.
Prices and terms change, so each claim is tied to a primary source and a checked date.
MyTutor · Accessed 2026-09-14
From £26/hour, pay-as-you-go, no sign-up fees or subscriptions, free 15-minute meeting.
MyTutor · Accessed 2026-09-14
Online lesson space, recordings, on-platform communication, tutor interview and 1-in-8 selection claim.
MyTutor · Accessed 2026-09-14
Platform Fee capped at 49%; UK per-transaction fee £0.50 or 1.75% up to £2.50.
MyTutor · Accessed 2026-09-14
Interview and in-person ID checks; enhanced DBS with Children's Barred List renewed every three years; university requirement.
Tutorful · Accessed 2026-09-14
Online tuition from £20/hour; enhanced background checks; recorded lessons; on-platform messaging; first-lesson guarantee; SEN pathways.
Tutorful (Tutora Ltd) · Accessed 2026-09-14
Lesson Fee = Tutor Fee + Service Fee; Service Fee percentage not published; payment 24 hours after the lesson; 100% satisfaction guarantee capped at £100; Background Checked Status within 3 years; ranking factors.
Tutorful · Accessed 2026-09-14
States "We are no longer accepting new tutors."
Tutor Hunt · Accessed 2026-09-14
Operating since 2005; free to message tutors; displayed rates include fees; payment 24 hours after each lesson; Enhanced DBS with children's barred list required; only English and Scottish Enhanced DBS accepted.
Tutor Hunt · Accessed 2026-09-14
Enhanced DBS required of all tutors; named Designated Safeguarding Officer; online lessons recorded for safeguarding.
Superprof · Accessed 2026-09-14
UK Student Pass £39/month and 30-day renewal; subscription separate from lesson fees; tutors keep 100% when paid directly; 10% processing fee if paid through the platform.
The Profs · Accessed 2026-09-14
School tutoring from £60/hour plus a £70 registration fee; undergraduate £75, postgraduate £90, professional £105 and specialist £120 per hour; block-booking discounts.
The Profs · Accessed 2026-09-14
States only 3% of tutor applicants make it onto the network; premium managed-matching positioning.
Edumentors · Accessed 2026-09-14
Sessions from £29; tiers £20–£30, £30–£40 and £40+; pay per session or in full; free trial session; refund or reschedule if a tutor misses a lesson.
Edumentors · Accessed 2026-09-14
Online one-to-one tutoring for ages 4–19; hand-picked, vetted tutors from leading UK universities.
Disclosure and Barring Service / GOV.UK · Accessed 2026-09-14
England and Wales DBS terminology; eligibility depends on the role.
Education Endowment Foundation · Accessed 2026-09-14
Estimates an average impact of around five additional months' progress from one-to-one tuition.
First Tutors · Accessed 2026-09-14
Self-service portal for downloading reviews and account data.
TutorDex · Accessed 2026-09-14
TutorDex import process and how imported reviews are treated.